Back to Work!

A few weeks ago I updated my LinkedIn profile, and I somehow added a new job.  I now work at “A Journey of Ten Years”  which began a few years ago, as a way to slowly reach my goals, especially the seemingly impossible one of getting to a healthier body weight.

Today I’ve decided to make the journey and this blog part of my work day.  It’s also helpful that today is Monday, I’m not so jet-lagged any more, and my suitcases are almost all unpacked.  It’s taken me three weeks.

So…if you are moving from the other side of the world (Beijing, China) to a very different lifestyle (living with my daughter and her family)  understand that this takes time and working doesn’t always happen on a regular basis.  But it does happen, and this is what I’ve learned from my three week adjustment time!

  • Cut yourself some slack.   I have given myself a month, and I think that was a good gift.
  • Pick your big rocks…self-care is vital during transition.  Sleep was the biggest rock and I slept and rested as needed.
  • Ease into your new life – getting a library card and establishing Tuesday as Library day is grounding.  It is also something I can do with my whole family or just one or two grandchildren.
  • Try to do one or two things that move you forward, after the big rocks are taken care of.  I am taking a course on Literacy ESL.  I feel chronically behind, but I’m really not too far.  I am learning and I am preparing for the next stage of my journey!

Just now it is time for tea!

Thanks for travelling with me!

Marcia

(The pictures are from my trip to Korea!)

 

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking! EDIT: 2021. I am not closer to my weight goal, but moving forward. The budget is still small. We are renting our homestead and progressing towards our family dream!
This entry was posted in Life's Work, Teaching In Beijing, Uncategorized, World Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment