Adjusting to the CHANGE!

It’s 10:30 pm, and I’m at my computer sipping Valerian tea.  Because I had a nap before supper, I need all the help I can get to fall asleep.  Jet lag is not fun!  But the tea is nice!

valerian-tea

(Just a note that I chose this picture because I do like the teas they make, especially the one for sore throats!)

Today is March 5, so it’s been a good week since I left my studio apartment in Yizhuang, Beijing and moved my baggage north to the 21 Century Hotel in Liangmaciao.  That was a good decision because it gave me some peace and quiet near my church and the airport – as well as internet, which had been shut down at home!

Since the afternoon of February 25th, I’ve enjoyed my first massage (Shoulders and feet), said good bye at my church (and met some people from London, Ontario at the same time!) enjoyed some uniquely named craft beer at Slowboat, and farewell knitting with my friends.

Flying from Beijing to Chicago was very relaxing.  The plane was not full, so I enjoyed the luxury of three seats to stretch out in!  Even so, I enjoyed the extra legroom that American Airlines offered on this flight.  My ankles were not complaining while I was sitting up! Their commuter plane from Chicago to Toronto had good legroom aSs well, I thought!

The Chicago airport experience was disappointing.  I didn’t find the geocache I went looking for, and I didn’t find Chicago Deep Dish Pizza at the airport either.  Just “Wolfgang Puck” and I wasn’t paying for just a regular pizza in Chicago.

I’ve spent the first week of my new bend in Toronto, visiting my parents, playing Scrabble and Rummikub, shopping and swimming in my new bathing suit, as well as trying to get myself used to being awake while Beijing sleeps.  It’s a challenge!  The Valerian tea helps.

Now I’m in London and working at building a life and routine that works for all of us.  I’m living with my daughter, so we have a full house.  Grandchildren wake up and need to make sure I”m still there.  I wake up because I hear them stirring!

Change seems to be a constant in our lives, so I’m hoping that my journey will be an encouragement to those who are also in the midst of big changes in their world.

Thanks for travelling with me!

Marcia

 

 

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking! EDIT: 2021. I am not closer to my weight goal, but moving forward. The budget is still small. We are renting our homestead and progressing towards our family dream!
This entry was posted in Life's Work, Uncategorized, World Travels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment