Getting Behind on Life…

This feels like it is going to be a discouraging kind of post – most likely because I am feeling discouraged.  I feel like this holding pattern is going to last forever and there will be no end to it.  I know this is NOT TRUE.  I know that it will change, but at this moment the feeling of impotency is very strong.

So, in order to get out if the rut, I’m going to “blog outloud”  and see if I can’t find some direction….

PROBLEM:  JOB HUNT;  I am my own worst enemy here, feeling that everyone is more competent than I am and not going for it.  Time, energy, focus… SOLUTION:  Don’t make the resume issue so complicated.  Start volunteering.  Make those phone calls.

PROBLEM:  WEIGHT LOSS;  The walking app by Leslie Sansone is really helping with the exercise part of it.  So the calories in part is the problem.  SOLUTION:  Focus on the success I’m having with exercise.  Make a strong effort to eat less at supper and in the evening.

PROBLEM:  FINANCES;  This has been a family wide stressor, so the solution has to be involve the whole family.  We are making headway with this one, but again, I need to be bringing in my own income if we are to reach our goals of having a home of our own.  SOLUTION:  We have moved away from denial to honesty.  This helps all of us know what needs to be addressed and how to address it.  Thanks to Dave Ramsey’s Debt Snow Ball and Vertex42 we have a plan and a date for eliminating family debt.  This is a forward move for all of us!

ACCOUNTABILITY:  This is important.  I blog about my weight loss journey at One Year, One Week, One Pound so for my weightloss efforts, you can check that out.  I promise to be regular.    For the rest of it – stay tuned.  While there will be other posts about other things, I will let you know how we are doing.

This post was rather cathartic.  It gave me the opportunity to think with my fingers and come to grips with certain actions that need to be taken.

The pictures are of the wildlife we see on our nature walks every day!

Have a great week!

Marcia

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in Life's Work, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting Behind on Life…

  1. Lady A says:

    Marcia you are well on your way in so many areas and I wish you all the best on your journey. Stay focused on the goals and celebrate the smallest of successes.

Leave a Reply

