Annual Check-up, 2017

If my memory is correct, I started this 10 year journey on my 55th birthday.  And today Google informed me that once again I get to celebrate.  They even supplied some candles!  What a nice thing for them to do….I think.

I have this 5 subject notebook that matches the 5 colours that order my life, so I thought I would quickly share some goals and accomplishments (or not!)

Most of my blogging is about my health – which is for the most part pretty good.  Sadly I am still overweight – but I now have only 94 pounds to lose to get to my goal weight.  I thought I could lose 10 pounds per year without too much difficulty but that has not proved to be the case.  In fact I’m about 30 pounds behind.

I don’t always realize who other people see.  I thought it would be a good idea to post a picture or three, just to be honest.  I’ve just embarked on a year of Fitness walking which I talk about more on “One Year, One Week, One Pound” here at WordPress.  My birthday present to myself was Leslie Sansones “Your Daily Walk” app that I have faithfully done for the last week.  And I did lose more than one pound!

Career-wise I’m a bit at lose ends just now, other than being a full time Oma.  I left my work in Beijing, China due to mental health concerns here at home.  I have a book I want to read, ideas I want to try, but just the task of writing my resume feels daunting.  I’m hoping to find an opportunity to teach ESL Literacy, but I’m also trying to expand my horizons.

In the Green zone, I am still debt free.  I guess at 58 that’s a good thing, but I’m definitely lacking in assets.  Teaching in China definitely helped me save some money…but being unemployed right now is eating into that little nest egg.

Creatively (BLUE) I did design and publish a crocheted afghan square.  I keep knitting and crocheting but mostly I follow someone else’s patterns.  That is beginning to change and I’m glad of that.

However things look here – and sometimes they feel a little bleak – I know that I am so very blessed to have the love of my family, my friends and my Creator.  This has been a year of grace, mercy and great blessing!  I am looking forward to the future, knowing that so many good things come – most of them unexpectedly!

Thanks for travelling with me!

Marcia

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in Life's Work, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

