Goodbye Beijing!

I haven’t finished sharing about my trip to Korea yet, but I’m back home and in the middle of getting ready for my move to Ontario.  Big changes as I transition from independent teacher in Beijing to Oma with responsibilities at home.

One of the things I needed to do was get a criminal check here in China.  This is best done here but there wasn’t a lot of information that I could find.  So after being rescued by many strangers along the way, I will share my adventure with you.  Keep in mind that things change, but today, February 17, 2017 this worked.  I took the subway.

From line 2 or line 5 get off at Yonghegong Lama Temple station.  Exit B is the best exit as you are facing, east, the direction you want to walk.  And it’s a walk.  But there is a pretty nice coffee shop tucked into Gehua Tower.  More about that later.

Keep walking past the big Entry-Exit office.  My logic told me this was where I needed to go, but it is not!  Keep walking a little further and there is a very nondescript building. It doesn’t look in any way official, but it is your destination

The pink line shows the wrong place and the way to the correct place.  I got the gentleman at the Security Bureau to write the characters I needed!  The top pictures are of the front of the building.

I brought all my resident permits, but you really only need the current one.  I just wanted to make sure all the time I was in China was covered.  And since I was only in Beijing, this is the only place I had to go.  If you lived in other locations, you may need to travel back. And don’t forget your passport!!  If you can, make copies of all your visa pages, the picture page and your resident permit.  But there is a copier on the premises.  

The cost for the check (2 copies), translation and courier fees to Canada was just under 700 rmb.  It takes 17 business days to get this done, so if you want to save the courier fees, get on this well before you leave.  

After all that stress I needed a coffee so I stopped in at the Gehua Tower.  Tucked away on the west side is a coffee shop called the Nut Cafe.  It was such a nice place, that I took some pictures.  I’ll just share one, so you get an idea!  

Being tired, phoneless and with my iPad rapidly losing power, I hopped on the subway and headed back home to recuperate.  Moving is a stressful business!

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in Teaching In Beijing, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goodbye Beijing!

  1. Emily B says:

    Thank you Marcia. This really helped me. I went for my police certificate today and I wouldn’t have known where to start without this information! The photos were helpful too

Leave a Reply

