I want to remember that…

i-want-to-remember

If you search for this in images, you will find that it is a pretty popular one.  Many people have it on their Pinterest boards, and on blogs, etc.  My friend Ponnie posted it on Facebook, and I was hit right between the eyes with it.   It’s been life changing!

After many years of resistance (How old is Candy Crush Saga anyways?) I succombed during one of Beijing’s “bad air” days where we had no school and I was staying very close to my air purifier.  Once caught, I was hooked, and although I shook loose a couple of times, I would somehow reload it to my computer and begin playing again.  The latest shake was two days ago.  These games are addictive, let me tell you!  (Or maybe you already know!)

I had a note by my computer that saide “You didn’t come to China to play CCS, you know!)  and still I would play, although not so long.  And then, this picture came across my path, and I’ve been slowly working towards getting things done and recording it for my encouragement!  Here’s what I did.

I made a list of the things I wanted to work through this year.  I looked at the five colours I use to organize my life and created a very long list. There are 20 things on that list covering my spiritual growth, getting healthy and fit, building my ESL teaching skills, and of course knitting down my yarn stash and learning Chinese.

Not everything on that list got crossed off every day, and that’s okay.  Some things are harder to squeeze in than others.  For instance, I knit on my dishclothes every day while chatting with my family, but getting out the sweater that’s almost finished (Long rows) is harder to do – like once in three weeks.

What I realized is that little by little, I can finish some of the things on my list.  Often I can do some knitting while listening to my Chinese lessons.  One row at a time, that sweater will get done.

The list also helps me to celebrate the 12 day stretch of walking over 10000 steps per day.  That was an amazing feat, and I was very happy.  Last Saturday I took a break and rested, but I’m back at it again.  The list encourages me.

So…if you have things you want to accomplish over the next few or 10 years, start now.  Make a list, work on it a little bit every day.  See your progress in every check mark.  Enjoy the journey!  I know that I am!  (I even got to unexpectedly see this giant duck!)

img_20160916_134506

I hope the opening quote encourages you as much as it does me, and that the unexpected gives you much joy.  (This duck was in a very serene part of the Yungang Grottoes in the Da Tong region of China!)

Take care,

Marcia

 

 

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in Faith, Health, Life's Work, Teaching In Beijing, The Creative Process, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I want to remember that…

  1. Pingback: What’s with these 10000 steps? | One year, One Week, One Pound

Leave a Reply

